Programs & Initiatives

Middle School PASS

Middle School PASS is PASS for middle school students (6, 7 and 8 grades).

Middle School PASS Course Offerings

PASS stands for Portable Assisted Study Sequence. The program originated in 1978 in California as part of the Secondary School Migrant Dropout Prevention Program. It was designed to allow migrant high school students to meet graduation requirements by granting credit for the completion of supplemental self-direct learning packages (semester courses). There are many similarities in the two programs. In fact, PASS in Wisconsin really stands for Portable Assisted Study Sequence 6-12. The term Mini PASS is used only to distinguish the middle school portion of the program from the established high school portion which is known nationwide as PASS.

Middle School PASS Similarities to PASS

The program consists of:

  1. Self contained semester course of study.
  2. Each course is designed for independent or semi independent study.
  3. The courses consist of five units of study.
  4. A unit test usually accompanies each unit. (Some units have review tests and Mini PASS
    courses have final tests.)
  5. A student-parent-teacher contract of study is used. (This also provides the student with a running record of progress.)
  6. The program is designed to supplement the regular curriculum offerings and is not in competition with the regular school programs.
  7. The courses parallel regular course offerings.
  8. The concepts and skills taught are generic in order to meet most of the requirements of the individual states or school districts. (Ex. At least 80% of the essential elements required in Texas were incorporated into the Middle School PASS courses as they were developed.)
  9. The courses are not for all students. (To be successful students should have basic reading and writing skills in English as well as the ability and motivation to study "independently".)


Questions/Comments about this web site and content? Please contact Paige Inman.